“J The Ex is triumphant as a commanding emcee” – SoulCulture
“This man is brimming with talent.” – K2 (AAGM, BBC 1Xtra)
“TheNuBlack definitely salutes this!” – The:NuBlack

Two years after his seminal debut mixtape 360 Full Circle, emerging British vocalist/rapper J The Exodus returns in 2012 with his debut EP titled From Darkness Came Light to be released via Less Is More Music. With production from Nutty P (Stinkahbell) and Chemo to mention a couple and inspired guest appearances from the likes of Mikeel Ameen and Phoenix Da Icefire, From Darkness Came Light sees J The Ex coming into his own not only as an excellent rapper and vocalist but also as an artist with a conscience as he tackles the heavy issues – from social disposition to politics to black history and more – on this 9-track record which will stand as a strong coming of age for this bright and talented Londoner.

From the EP’s title track “From Darkness Came Light” where J The Ex boldly discusses black history and raps beautifully about being proud to be Black no matter what the history books say over an aptly dark and soulful Isyss production to the E.P’s latest single and very poignant opus “Sings Of The Last Days” which is already a fan-favourite at his live gigs, J The Ex completely stamps his authority and ownership over every musical milieu on this EP, showing not only his lyrical dexterities, clear vocal cadence and lush tenor – baritone vocals but also a wisdom, knowledge, conscience and insight that is a rarity in UK urban music.

J The Ex thoroughly and brilliantly pours his heart and soul out on every of the 41.31 minutes of From Darkness Came Light as he stakes a more than potent claim as one to be reckoned with in the UK Hip-Hop landscape. As he explains it, “the great thing about taking on this idea for the project (is that) it gives me the connection to every person on the planet as we experience different aspects of life every day. I address personal, societal, political, controversial and historical matters on this EP and display my views on these subjects within every song”.


  • 01. Wake Up feat. Phoenix Da Icefire
  • 02. Guiding Star feat. Tara Brown & Indigo
  • 03. From Darkness Came Light
  • 04. Flow feat. Indigo
  • 05. Black Magick
  • 06. This World
  • 07. Knowledge is Power
  • 08. S.O.L.D
  • 09. Always Be Me – (Bonus Track)